I Used To Be So Sure

How to Preach Real, Relevant, Relational and Revolutionary Sermons

I Used To Be So Sure

I used to be so steady. I used to be so sure. I used to know all the answers. I used to ride my bike with no hands. Now I just concentrate on moving the pedals. I used believe as hard as a rock, now everything is soft and I only have a little faith. Only a little faith. Only a little.
I used to be so rock solid sure; I used to misunderstand so much. And I used to preach that misunderstanding, preach it hard like my rock of faith. And I used to pound that misunderstanding hard until other people believed it.
I used to be so sure.
Now I preach questions and a little faith. And reaching out to take the steady hand of Jesus and to reach out to steady someone else. And forgiveness, I preach forgiveness. I do this not for any credit in heaven or eternal reward, but because this is how I try to live my life.

I try to have a little faith and two outstretched hands. A little faith and two outstretched hands.

This entry was posted in preaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Used To Be So Sure

  1. John L says:

    that’s beautiful

  2. Greg Brown says:

    A friend said to check out your blog. After reading these first two, I will be reading regularly. This is a psalm for our time. Thanks.

  3. revlamblove says:

    hi papa i like your blog
    have you ever heard of x fiols

  4. Pingback: "I used to be so sure" : A Different Street

  5. Betty Ann Rathbun Shunk says:

    I just read “I used to be sure”. It is so real. It reads my soul. Thankyou.
    Could we be related?

Leave a Reply

